Town of Drumheller COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES



October 26, 2009 4:30 PM Council Chambers, Town Hall 703 - 2nd Ave West, Drumheller, Alberta

PRESENT:

MAYOR: Bryce Nimmo

COUNCIL: Andrew Berdahl Karen Bertamini Don Guidolin Blaine McDonald Sharel Shoff Terry Yemen

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER/ENGINEER: Ray Romanetz

DIRECTOR OF INFRASTRUCTURE SERVICES: Allan Kendrick

DIRECTOR OF CORPORATE SERVICES: Michael Roy

DIRECTOR OF COMMUNITY SERVICES: Paul Salvatore

RECORDING SECRETARY: Linda Handy

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

2.0 BOARD APPOINTMENTS

2.1 RFD – Council Appointments to Boards Mayor Nimmo presented the 2009/10 Town's Council Board Appointments as follows:

Airport Commission Municipal Planning Commission

Palliser Regional Municipal Services Drumheller Chamber Commerce Karen Bertamini Andrew Berdahl Sharel Shoff Don Guidolin Terry Yemen Council Organizational Meeting October 26, 2009 Page 2

Drumheller & District Solid Waste Management Association

Valley Bus Society

Taxi Commission

Drumheller Public Library Board Community Futures Drumheller Recycling Association

Community Advisory Committee (R.C.M.P.) Drumheller Agriculture & Stampede Board Drumheller & District Seniors Foundation Drumheller Housing Administration Ambulance Sub-division and Development Appeal Board

Disaster Service Committee

Communities in Bloom Weed Committee

Assessment Review Board

Crime Stoppers Economic Development Task Force

Red Deer River Municipal Users Group Canadian Badlands Ltd.

Policing Committee Kneehill Regional Water Services Steering Comm

Revitalization Corporation

Municipal Sustainability Plan

Don Guidolin Rav Romanetz Andrew Berdahl Allan Kendrick Mayor Bryce Nimmo Sharel Shoff Sharel Shoff Blaine McDonald Don Guidolin Ray Romanetz Blaine McDonald Terry Yemen Terry Yemen Karen Bertamini Don Guidolin Don Guidolin Karen Bertamini Mayor Bryce Nimmo Blaine McDonald Terry Yemen Sharel Shoff Karen Bertamini Terry Yemen Karen Bertamini Andrew Berdahl Blaine McDonald Mayor Nimmo(Alternate) Mayor Bryce Nimmo Mayor Bryce Nimmo **Blaine McDonald** Mayor Bryce Nimmo Mayor Bryce Nimmo Karen Bertamini Mayor Bryce Nimmo Mayor Bryce Nimmo Karen Bertamini Mayor Bryce Nimmo Andrew Berdahl Mayor Bryce Nimmo Karen Bertamini Andrew Berdahl

Council Organizational Meeting October 26, 2009 Page 3

MO2009.ORG Yemen, Guidolin that the 2009/10 Council Board Appointments be adopted as presented. Carried unanimously.

2.2 RFD – Appointments to Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (3 vacancies) R. Romanetz advised that the terms of the current Subdivision and Development Appeal Board members will expire on October 26, 2009 resulting in three vacancies on this board. Three applicants have submitted their names: Mrs. Carol Ludwig, Mr. Trevor Gough, and Mr. Jerry Brett. All three individuals have previously served on this board. Administration is recommending that all three individuals be reappointed for a one year term of membership expiring on the date of the 2010 Annual Organizational meeting.

MO2009.ORG Shoff, Yemen that Council approve the appointments of Mrs. Carol Ludwig, Mr. Trevor Gough and Mr. Jerry Brett to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board for a term expiring on the date of the 2010 Annual Organizational meeting. Carried unanimously.

2.3 RFD – Appointments to Police Committee

R. Romanetz advised that the terms membership for the Police Committee states as follows:

"One (1) to three (3) year term, whichever Council deems appropriate, commencing October 31st."

Two members were appointed for a one year term and will expire on October 31st, 2009 resulting in two vacancies on this board. One application was received from Mr. Tom Zariski. Administration is recommending that Mr. Zariski be appointed for a three year term expiring on the date of the 2012 Annual Organizational meeting.

MO2009.ORG Berdahl, Bertamini that Council approve the appointment of Mr. Tom Zariski for a three year term expiring on the date of the 2012 Annual Organizational meeting. Carried unanimously.

2.4 RFD – Appointments to Policing Committee

R. Romanetz advised that the Town of Drumheller's Airport Commission has five vacancies. Five applications were received from former members, Donald Ostergard, Richard Coe, Robert Ross, Frank Fraser and Peter Cardamone. Administration is recommending reappointment of the five former members for a further term of three years expiring on the date of the 2012 Annual Organizational Meeting.

MO2009.ORG Bertamini, Berdahl that Council approve the appointments of Donald Ostergard, Richard Coe, Robert Ross, Frank Fraser and Peter Cardamone for a three year term expiring on the date of the 2012 Annual Organizational meeting. Carried unanimously.

Council Organizational Meeting October 26, 2009 Page 4

3.0 ADJOURNMENT OF ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

There being no further business the Mayor declared the Organizational meeting adjourned at 4:33 PM

MAYOR

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER