Town of Drumheller ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES

October 24, 2011 at 4:30 PM Council Chamber, Town Hall 703-2nd Ave. West, Drumheller, Alberta

PRESENT:

DEPUTY MAYOR:

Tom Zariski

COUNCIL:

Andrew Berdahl

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Sharel Shoff

Doug Stanford

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER/ENGINEER:

Ray Romanetz

DIRECTOR OF INFRASTRUCTURE SERVICES:

Allan Kendrick

ACTING DIRECTOR OF CORPORATE SERVICES:

Bill Wulff

DIRECTOR OF COMMUNITY SERVICES:

Paul Salvatore

RECORDING SECRETARY:

Linda Handy

ABSENT:

Mayor Terry Yemen Councillor Jay Garbutt

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

2.0 BOARD APPOINTMENTS

2.1 RFD - Council Appointments to Boards

Deputy Mayor T. Zariski presented the Council Board appointments for 2011/12 as follows:

Airport Commission Doug Stanford

Municipal Planning Commission Doug Stanford

Andrew Berdahl

Palliser Regional Municipal Services Sharel Shoff

Drumheller Chamber of Commerce	Terry Yemen
--------------------------------	-------------

Drumheller & District Solid Waste

Management Association Jay Garbutt

Ray Romanetz

Valley Bus Society Tom Zariski

Alan Kendrick

Drumheller Public Library Board Andrew Berdahl

Community Futures Sharel Shoff

Community Advisory Committee - RCMP Doug Stanford

Police Committee Doug Stanford

Drumheller Agriculture & Stampede Board Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Drumheller & District Seniors Foundation Tom Zariski

Drumheller Housing Administration Jay Garbutt

Ambulance Doug Stanford

Sub-division and Development Appeal Board Jay Garbutt

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Disaster Service Committee Andrew Berdahl

Doug Stanford Terry Yemen

Communities in Bloom Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Sharel Shoff

Community Standards Appeal Committee Jay Garbutt

Terry Yemen

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Assessment Review Board Sharel Shoff

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Crime Stoppers Doug Stanford

Economic Development Task Force Terry Yemen

Sharel Shoff

Red Deer River Municipal Users Group Terry Yemen

Kneehill Regional Water Services Steering Comm Terry Yemen

Ray Romanetz

Revitalization Corporation Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Andrew Berdahl

Taxi Commission Jay Garbutt

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Heritage Steering Committee Tom Zariski

Drumheller & District Humane Society Andrew Berdahl

Canadian Badlands Facility Steering Committee Terry Yemen

Andrew Berdahl
Jav Garbutt

Canadian Badlands Facility Design Committee Tom Zariski

MO2011.ORG01 Berdahl, Shoff moved that the 2011/2012 Council Board Appointments be adopted as presented. Carried unanimously.

2.2 RFD - Appointments to Subdivision and Development Appeal Board R. Romanetz advised that the terms of the current SDAB members will expire on October 31, 2011 resulting in three vacancies on this board. Two applicants have resubmitted their names: Jerry Brett and Karen Ann Bertamini. He further advised that the one remaining vacancy will continue to be advertised.

MO2011.ORG02 Shoff, Berdahl moved that Council approve the appointments of Jerry Brett and Karen Ann Bertamini to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board for a term expiring on the date of 2012 Annual Organizational meeting. Carried unanimously.

2.3 RFD - Appointments to Police Committee

R. Romanetz advised that three members' terms expire on October 31, 2011 resulting in three vacancies on this Committee. Three applications were resubmitted from existing board members serving a three year term. George Kallay and Fred Makowecki wish to serve for a further three year term while Jim Decore wishes to serve for a one year term.

MO2011.ORG03 Shoff, Stanford moved that Council approve the appointments of George Kallay and Fred Makowecki for a three year term expiring on the date of Council's 2014 Annual Organizational meeting and Jim Decore for a one year term expiring on the date of Council's 2012 Annual Organizational meeting. Carried unanimously.

Council Meeting Minutes October 24, 2011

2.4 RFD - Appointments to the Municipal Planning Commission

R. Romanetz advised that the Town has received four applications for the three vacancies on the MPC from Don Guidolin, Sharon J. Clark, Bob Greene and Jeanette Neilsen. Bob Greene has served two terms and wishes to serve one further term. In accordance with Bylaw 32.08, Council has the discretion to allow a member to sit for a further one term being three years. Administration recommended that Council appoint three board members to the MPC by secret ballot.

MO2011.ORG04 Shoff, Stanford moved that Council approve the appointments of Sharon J. Clark, Bob Greene and Jeanette Neilsen to the Municipal Planning Commission for a three year term. Carried unanimously.

MO2011.ORG05 Berdahl, Hansen-Zacharuk moved that the secret ballots be destroyed. Carried unanimously.

3.0 ADJOURNMENT OF ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER

There being no further business, the Deputy Mayor adjourned the meeting at 4:50 PM.	
EPUTY MAYOR	