Town of Drumheller ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES

October 22, 2012 at 4:30 PM Council Chamber, Town Hall 703-2nd Ave. West, Drumheller, Alberta

PRESENT:

DEPUTY MAYOR:

Tom Zariski

COUNCIL:

Andrew Berdahl

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Sharel Shoff

Doug Stanford

Jay Garbutt

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER/ENGINEER:

Ray Romanetz

ACTING DIRECTOR OF CORPORATE SERVICES:

Bill Wulff

DIRECTOR OF COMMUNITY SERVICES:

Paul Salvatore

RECORDING SECRETARY:

Linda Handy

ABSENT:

Mayor Terry Yemen

Director of Infrastructure Services Allan Kendrick

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

2.0 BOARD APPOINTMENTS

2.1 RFD - Council Appointments to Boards

Deputy Mayor T. Zariski presented the Council Board appointments for 2012/13 as follows:

Airport Commission Doug Stanford

Municipal Planning Commission Doug Stanford

Andrew Berdahl

Palliser Regional Municipal Services Sharel Shoff

Council Meeting Minutes October 22, 2012

Drumheller Chamber of Commerce Terry Yemen

Drumheller & District Solid Waste

Management Association Jay Garbutt
Ray Romanetz

Valley Bus Society Tom Zariski

Alan Kendrick

Drumheller Public Library Board Andrew Berdahl

Community Futures Sharel Shoff

Community Advisory Committee - RCMP Doug Stanford

Police Committee Doug Stanford

Drumheller Agriculture & Stampede Board Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Drumheller & District Seniors Foundation Tom Zariski

Drumheller Housing Administration Jay Garbutt

Ambulance Doug Stanford

Sub-division and Development Appeal Board Jay Garbutt

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Disaster Service Committee Andrew Berdahl

Doug Stanford Terry Yemen

Communities in Bloom Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Sharel Shoff

Community Standards Appeal Committee Jay Garbutt

Terry Yemen

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Assessment Review Board Sharel Shoff

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Crime Stoppers Doug Stanford

Economic Development Task Force Terry Yemen

Sharel Shoff

Red Deer River Municipal Users Group Terry Yemen

Terry Yemen Kneehill Regional Water Services Steering Comm

Ray Romanetz

Revitalization Corporation Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Andrew Berdahl

Taxi Commission Jay Garbutt

Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk

Heritage Steering Committee Tom Zariski

Drumheller & District Humane Society Andrew Berdahl

Phase 2 Recreation Facility(s) Project

Terry Yemen Steering Committee Andrew Berdahl

Jay Garbutt

Citizens on Patrol Doug Stanford

Canadian Badlands Ltd. Terry Yemen

Sharel Shoff **Bob Cromwell**

MO2012.ORG01 Shoff, Hansen-Zacharuk moved that the 2012/2013 Council Board Appointments be adopted as presented. Carried unanimously.

2.2 RFD - Appointments to Subdivision and Development Appeal Board R. Romanetz advised that the terms of the current SDAB members will expire on October 22, 2012 resulting in three vacancies on this board. The three current members have resubmitted their names: Jerry Brett, Karen Ann Bertamini and Don Guidolin.

MO2012.ORG02 Shoff, Garbutt moved that Council approve the appointments of Jerry Brett, Karen Ann Bertamini and Don Guidolin to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board for a term expiring on the date of 2013 Annual Organizational meeting. Carried unanimously.

2.3 RFD - Appointments to Police Committee

R. Romanetz advised that four members' terms expire on October 22, 2012 resulting in four vacancies on this Committee. The Town received one new application from Aaron D'Onofrio-Jones. Current member Jim Decore wishes to serve for a further one year term. Kneehill County's member has expired which requires their Council to reappoint a member. The remaining one vacancy will continue to be advertised.

Council Meeting Minutes October 22, 2012

MO2012.ORG03 Stanford, Hansen-Zacharuk moved that Council approve the appointments of Jim Decore for a further one year term expiring on the date of Council's 2013 Annual Organizational meeting and Aaron D'Onofrio-Jones for a two year term expiring on the date of Council's 2014 Annual Organizational meeting. Carried unanimously.

2.4 RFD – Economic Development Task Force Appointment

R. Romanetz advised that there is one vacancy on the Task Force for a public at large member. After a call for volunteer applications, we received one interested applicant from current Task Force member, Diana Rowe. The Task Force recommends the reappointment of Diana Rowe to the Task Force.

MO2012.ORG04 Shoff, Garbutt moved that Council approve the reappointment of Diana Rowe to the Economic Development Task Force for a further three year term expiring on the date of Council's 2015 Annual Organizational meeting. Carried unanimously.

3.0 ADJOURNMENT OF ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

There being no further business, the De	eputy Mayor adjourned the meeting at 4:50 PM.
DEPUTY MAYOR	
CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER	